Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

These were a hit for dinner tonight, but as I was making it I was a bit concerned that the kiddos would complain and say they didn’t like it.  Surprisingly they LOVED it, more so than the hubby, who I think would have liked it more traditional with meat and rice.  He felt it was missing something.  I will make it again and brainstorm how to make everyone happy.  It may mean I make two versions, but hopefully I can come up with something else to add and still keep it vegetarian.  Any suggestions?Quinoa Stuffed PeppersI will admit, I kinda threw these together by combining what I know about stuffed peppers (I think I’ve made them once and maybe only had them a couple times) together with the recipe I happened to see on the back of the quinoa box.  I didn’t measure anything so any amounts should be considered approximate and to taste.

  • Quinoa- Probably 3-4 cups worth. I cooked a big batch the other day expecting to use some for this recipe.
  • Red Peppers- I used 4 peppers for the 5 of us.  I cut them in half and seeded them.
  • Tomato sauce- I mixed in about a 1/2 -3/4 cup or so of tomato sauce.
  • Clove of garlic
  • Chopped onion
  • A Few squirts of Siracha
  • Shredded Cheddar cheese- I mixed some of the cheese into the mixture before stuffing and then added a little bit over the top as well.
  • Parmesan cheese- I shredded a bit over the top once they were all stuffed.

Once they were all stuffed I added more sauce over the top then baked at 350 F for 30-45 minutes.  Sorry for the lack of precise measurements and timing.  With most of my cooking I often make tweaks as I go.  I do try to follow more exactly when baking but have been known to “adjust” things to suit my needs. Sometimes it pays off, other times it’s a recipe fail.

I think this one worked out ok.

 

2 thoughts on “Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

  1. Pingback: Turkey Taco Stuffed Peppers and Zucchini Boats | Amy's Fitness Quest

Leave a Reply

