No Bake Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

July 30, 2014

I really can’t believe the summer is half over.  Well, possibly more than half over.  We’ve enjoyed it for the most part, but I definitely have some regrets that we didn’t do nearly as many things as I thought we would.  The days are just flying by.  I wish we had a few more months.

One of my big regrets is that I haven’t kept up with this blog like I had planned.  I struggled to find time to post this spring, but told myself that once we were all out of school for the summer I would catch up and make it a priority.    Here’s to fresh starts I guess.

As I was scrolling through Pinterest tonight looking for some “clean” dessert ideas to share with my clean eating group I had a craving for the No Bake Oatmeal Peanut Butter balls that I’ve made in the past.  So I did a quick search for the recipe again.  I quickly realized that if I made the full recipe I would:

1. Use up just about all the peanut butter we had in the house.  That can not happen.  Peanut butter is a necessity for my daily shakes so I needed to leave some for the rest of the week.

AND

2. I would most certainly eat WAY more than necessary.

My solution?  Estimate the amounts of the ingredients so that I made just one cookie for myself.
oatmeal peanut butter cookie no bake

I started with 1 tablespoon of peanut butter, then added about a tsp. of honey, a drop of vanilla, 1/2 cup oatmeal, about 2 tsp flax seed meal and coconut and then a few chocolate chips.

I didn’t actually measure any of these ingredients so this is just a guess.  I’m notorious for creating my own takes on recipes, but then I never have actual measurements to recreate them or explain to others how to make them.

 

 

Here’s the recipe in it’s full amount so you have a better idea of how to make them.

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup old-fashioned oats (raw)- I used gluten free
  • 2/3 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup ground golden flaxseed meal (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
  • 6 Tbsp chocolate chips
Leave a Reply

